Tightening up my dialogue-some things I’ve learned

So, I have been working through my writing, tightening up and “fixing” the dialogue. I’ve been having problems finding other words (the right verb) for “says” or “explains” or “thinks.” I read through some things online and here’s what I found.

There is something called “constructed speech dialogue”, “unintroduced” dialogue, and direct and indirect speech.

I didn’t even consider the type of dialogue that appears like this within the text: and he was like, “did I do this correctly?” Or I’m like, “are you ready to go?” This type of dialogue is represented by this formula: “be” + “like” = “say”  it represents the kind of thing a character would be saying or thinking. I think I used to talk this way. For all I know I still do.

My writing over these last 5 years has been an adventure. Putting together and sorting out certain portions of it and constructing the dialogue is tedious but important for the characters to portray emotions and visualize the setting/situation for the reader.

Leave a Reply

